Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Social Security numbers must be furnished to the county assessor by each occupant who is listed as an owner of the property on the deed , the name and address of each owner who do not occupy the property, and the name and social security number of each owner's spouse who occupies the property. The homestead application must be signed by the property owner who occupies the property and each owner's spouse who occupies the property. For more information, contact the Assessor's office.
Please return the original form(s) to our office either in person, using our white drop box outside Door "B" or by mailing your form to our office. If you should have further questions regarding the homestead tax credit, please contact our office.
If your property has sold or your primary residency changes, Minnesota state law requires you to notify the assessor within 30 days. If you fail to contact the County Assessor within 30 days, the property may be assessed taxes due as if the property were non-homestead.
In a case where the county assessor doubts a owner is actually occupying the residence as their primary residence, the assessor has the right to require from the person claiming homestead, proof by affidavit or by one of the following factors:
The taxpayer does not need to meet all of the qualifications. If the assessor is still questioning the homestead status, the property should be classified as non-homestead and allow the taxpayer to make appeals. For further information, contact the Assessor's office.
A property owner in the state of Minnesota may only receive homestead benefits at one place. This homestead must be their "place of abode by intention and in fact on January 2nd" (Administrators Manual). If you claim more than one homestead in the State of Minnesota there will be a penalty applied. For more information, contact the Assessor's Office.
Yes. Gov. Walz signed two bills into law that extend the expiration dates of driver’s licenses, ID cards and permits that expire during and the month after the COVID-19 peacetime emergency ends to two months after the peacetime emergency ends.
What that means:
Please make sure you have all the proper documents with you when you apply for a REAL ID/DL. Specific Documents Requirements
For more information see our License pages
A Reduced Fee Identification Card is available to persons with a physical or developmental disability or qualified mental illness. To qualify, you must submit a completed Eligibility Form
For more information, visit the driver's license page.
No, any reinstatement fees that needs to be paid must be paid at a Drivers License Exam Station (PDF).
Yes we process Enhanced Driver's Licenses or Identification Cards from 8 AM to 3:35PM. Please make sure you have the proper documents with you when you apply for more information see our link above.
No, if you have a Commercial Driver's License, but do not use it for commercial purposes, then you will need to fill out a Medical Self-Certification Form (PDF), stating that you are not required to carry one.
No, Minnesota only allows one valid card. A driver's license would serve the same purpose as an Identification Card. For more information, contact the Auditor / Treasurer.
In Minnesota you can apply for an identification card at any age as long as you have the Proper Identification Documents (PDF).
No, the Sherburne County License Center does not offer any testing, you would need to go to a Drivers License Exam Station (PDF).
For more information, visit our Driver's License page.
Yes, you can apply for your permit at this location if you have already been to a Drivers License Exam Station (PDF) to take your written permit test.
For more information contact the Auditor / Treasurer.
View more information on our Driver's License Renewal page.
No. Anyone new to Minnesota or returning to Minnesota with a Drivers License form another state has to take the written exam at Drivers License Exam Station (PDF). Please ensure that you have Proper Identification Documents (PDF).
No. Vehicles Tabs, Title Transfers, Boat Licenses, etc. are done at Department of Motor Vehicles locations. The Deputy Registrar in Elk River is the closest location:600 Railroad DriveElk River, MN 55330
No. The fine has to be paid in the same county you received the ticket. (Sherburne County tickets are paid at the Sherburne County courts window).
You may pay reinstatement fees online at https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs
Yes. If you are not 18 yet, parents have to sign the application when you apply or they can sign and have their signature notarized. For further information, contact the Auditor / Treasurer.
Gov. Walz signed a bill into law that extends the expiration date for disability parking certificates and permits that would have expired during the COVID-19 peacetime emergency. You have 60 days after the peacetime emergency ends to renew your disability parking certificate or permit. The peacetime emergency began March 13 and has been extended through Sept. 11.
For further information contact us Auditor / Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
If your property tax payment is not showing up on the Beacon website or if you have a question about your payment, please contact Property Tax for the most current information at 763-765-4350 or 800-438-0575.
If you have not received a property tax statement by the statutory mailing deadline, it is your responsibility to contact the Property Tax Division of the Auditor /Treasurer's Office to have a duplicate statement sent to you.
Contact the Assessor's Office in writing with the correct address information.
The Auditor / Treasurer's Office computes your property taxes by multiplying the value of your property by the total tax rate of the district in which your property is located. Classification rates are set by the Minnesota State Legislature. The value of your property is determined by the County Assessor's Office, and the classification is based on use. For more information, contact the Assessor at 763-765-4350.
Property tax dollars are distributed to the county, school district, municipality, and other special taxing districts in which your property is located.
The Sherburne County Auditor/Treasurer's Office accepts payments of more or less than the exact amount of a tax installment due for the current year. If the accepted payment is less than the amount due, it is applied first to the penalty accrued for the year that the payment is made.
If there is an over payment on your current taxes, a refund will be issued. For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
If you pay your tax after the tax due dates, a penalty will be added. The later you pay, the greater the penalty. For details, check the back of your property tax statement or refer to the schedule of penalties for late payment of property tax.
Property taxes become delinquent in the year following the payable year. Interest and penalty accrue on a monthly basis. The property is put into judgment and the forfeiture process begins. For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer's office at 763-765-4350.
The Truth - In - Taxation notice (TNT), also called the Proposed Tax Notice, is mailed to property owners during November each year. This notice indicates the anticipated property tax you will pay the following year if your local jurisdictions approve the budget amounts they are considering. Property owners are invited to attend meetings held by their local jurisdictions to express their opinions on local budgets. For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
Yes, for the following reasons:
For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
A number of Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Districts have been created within Sherburne County TIF is a program which allows the increased property taxes generated by a development to pay for development costs.
Tax Increment Financing is not an additional tax. Tax Increment Financing does not affect the calculation of the tax amount. Rather, it affects the distribution of tax. The tax due is calculated the same as for a property that is not in a TIF district, but money that would normally go to the County, City, school and special taxing districts is instead diverted to a TIF district. For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
Special taxing districts in Sherburne County include local economic development authorities, local Housing and Redevelopment Authorities. The Regional Rail Authority is also a special taxing district. For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
A special assessment is an improvement (such as streets, etc.) which directly benefits the property. It is shown as a separate amount on the property tax statement. The amount is based on how much the property benefits from the improvement and the cost of doing the project. It is not based on the value of the property. For more information, contact the Auditor/Treasurer at 763-765-4350.
If you owned and occupied this property on January 2 of this year as your homestead, you may qualify for a property tax refund. In addition, Minnesota homeowners whose property taxes increased by more than 12% over last year may be eligible for a special property tax refund. To determine if you are eligible for the Minnesota property tax refund and/or the special property tax refund, read the Form M-1PR Instructions and fill out the Form M-1PR.
Your state income tax booklet may contain the Form M-1PR and instructions. If not, you can download forms from the Minnesota Department of Revenue or request forms by calling the state at 651-296-4444, or by writing to:Minnesota Tax FormsMail Station 1421St. Paul, MI 55146-1421
Yes, the department's official title is Sherburne County Community Corrections. Find our contact information for further questions.
Contact Sherburne County Community Corrections at 763-765-4550.
Contact Sherburne County Court Administration for Court fines and fees questions at 763-765-4600.
Contact Sherburne County Court Administration for questions at 763-765-4600.
Contact the Sheriffs Department at 763-765-3853 to set up Huber / Work Release.
Contact the Sheriffs Department at 763-765-3818 to set up work crew / community service work.
If you are currently under supervision contact your probation officer; if you are not, contact your local law enforcement agency. For additional questions, contact Community Corrections.
Contact your county of residence:
No. The County Attorney's Office is limited by law to representing the County. Contact our office for more information.
Contact your caseworker from the County assigned. General information is available on the Minnesota Department of Human Services website.
Contact the County Attorney's Office:
There is a fee for the review of the plat (set by the County Board). A developer's agreement may be required depending on the conditions of the plat.
You can find help online through the Minnesota Judicial Branch Self Help Centers.
There is information available about the landlord-tenant relationship through the Minnesota Attorney General's Office.
Sherburne County Victim Witness Services Phone: 763-765-4756Email Michelle Berner
Sherburne County Government Center
13880 Business Center DriveSuite 100
Elk River, MN 55330
Our office is located within the County Attorney's Office.
Read our Court Hearings Brochure (PDF) for what to expect in a court hearings.
Please contact the Victim Witness Coordinator at 763-765-4756 or email Michelle Berner to express your wishes and the Coordinator will go over your different options.
The State of Minnesota has filed criminal charges in the case, not the victim. Please contact the Victim Witness Coordinator at 763-765-4756 or email Michelle Berner regarding your thoughts and wishes for the outcome of the case. The Coordinator will ensure your input is considered.
You must provide a written request to our office stating who you are, what you would like copies of, why you would like the police report and your contact information. You can either send your request via email to Michelle Berner, mail or drop off in person at our office located at:
As a victim, you are not required to attend court unless you received a subpoena. You do have the right to attend the hearings if you wish. Please contact our office if you plan to attend a hearing and the Victim Witness Coordinator can accompany you to the courtroom and provide helpful information.
Restitution may be ordered by the Court to restore the victim for expenses incurred related to the crime. Restitution can be ordered both in adult and juvenile criminal cases at sentencing (adult) and disposition (juvenile) hearings. Contact Victim Witness Services for more information.
You must complete an Affidavit for Restitution (PDF). Here you will provide a list of your losses, the dollar value of repair or replacement, and receipts or reasons justifying the amounts. The form should be filed as soon as possible.
To recuperate your losses, we need to have this information before a plea of guilt.
Examples of losses covered by restitution include, but are not limited to:
Copies of bills, receipts, insurance claim forms, and estimates should be attached to the affidavit of restitution form. The form must also include the defendant’s name and court file numbers. If you need help or assistance completing the affidavit of restitution form, please call the Sherburne County Crime Victim / Witness Office at 763-765-4756.
Reparations (PDF) is money available to assist victims with certain costs incurred as a result of a crime, such as:
Property damage or loss is not covered. Most claims must be filed within three years of the incident. Victims of violent crimes should file a claim for reparations even if they are also requesting restitution. It is not guaranteed the offender will pay restitution and not all victims are eligible for reparations. Form more information, contact the Victim Witness office.
A Victim Impact Statement (PDF) may be the only means of making offenders aware of the harm they have caused. A Victim Impact Statement can be written or oral. It gives the victim an opportunity to provide information for the judge to consider at sentencing and allows the victim to express the pain, anguish, and financial devastation the crime has caused. It also provides the court with information, which leads to appropriate sentences and suitable restitution.
According to the law, the victim determines how the statement should be presented at the sentencing or disposition hearing. They may choose one of the following:
The following are items to consider including in your Victim Impact Statement:
We encourage you to limit the facts to those which are unique to you and which the Court does not have knowledge of already. Contact the Victim Witness Office for more information.
There are a few ways to check on the status of an offender in Minnesota. You will need to know the offenders name.
Payable tickets may be paid in person at the Sherburne County Court Administration or by mail. If paying your fine by mail, send a check or money order. Do not send cash. Remittance should be made payable to Sherburne County Court Administration. Include your file number or citation number with payment. Payments may also be made online.
To determine your fine amount, contact Court Administration.
Contact Sherburne County Court Administration to make arrangements with the Screener/Collector to set up a payment schedule.
Contact Sherburne County Court Administration to schedule a hearing date. If you wish to speak with the prosecutor, you may do so after hearing your rights. If you wish to plead not guilty, you will be given another court date for a court trial or pretrial hearing.
Turn yourself in to the Sherburne County Sheriff's Department or your local law enforcement agency.
If your driver's license has been suspended due to an unpaid ticket, you will need to resolve the outstanding ticket prior to reinstatement of your license. Contact the Court Administrator in the county you received the ticket to make the necessary arrangements for payment or a court appearance. You will also need to contact the Department of Public Safety for reinstatement of your driving privileges. Minnesota driving privileges are valid only when indicated by the Department of Public Safety records.
You will need to contact the Department of Public Safety for assistance. Minnesota driving privileges are valid only when indicated by the Department of Public Safety records.
Provide the insurance information to Sherburne County Court Administration prior to your court date.
Insurance violations and driving while intoxicated are traffic crimes that can be enhanced. If you are charged with these offenses and have a prior conviction(s), the current charge may carry greater punishment because of the prior convictions.
If your license was suspended for delinquent child support, contact the social services agency that handles your child support obligation to enter into a repayment agreement. If we can help you in any other way, contact us.
You can check online.
Addresses are assigned based on a grid system throughout Sherburne County. The townships of Haven, Palmer, Santiago, Clear Lake and Becker have a grid system that is extended from the city of Saint Cloud and consequently have a post directional of southeast. The townships of Big Lake, Orrock, Livonia, Baldwin and Blue Hill have a grid system that is extended from the Twin Cities and consequently have a post directional of northwest. House numbers and street names are derived according to where each location falls on the grid system.
If the address is for a new construction you need to apply for a building permit in the Zoning Department at the Sherburne County Government Center. Your information will be given to the addressing technician in Public Works, and an address will be assigned and ready when you come to pick up your building permit. If you need an address for an existing building you should call the Public Works Department to receive an address. You will need to provide the Parcel ID Number of the property in question and the driveway location on the property.
All addresses are assigned according to where the driveway intersects the main road. If your property is located within the municipalities you must contact the municipality for an address.
Address number signs are put up by each township. Call a representative of your township to order a sign for you residence.
Your address will change only if you have received an address change notification from Sherburne County through the mail. Sherburne County has taken over the process of assigning addresses from all of the townships. The biggest advantage for using a city style address is that in the event of an emergency the person needing assistance can be found much easier. In order for the addressing system to work as best possible the addressing needs to remain consistent.
Problems requiring an address change:
Each inmate is allowed one twenty minute visit from friends or family members daily at the jail, Monday through Saturday. Inmates can have unlimited remote visits from home.
Friends and family can schedule visits with inmates during any time visitation is allowed. Public visitation hours for on-site visits are found on this hours page.
Visits need to be scheduled at least 24 hours in advance. You will need to use the video visit website. You will then create a free user account (if you don't already have one) and submit that for approval by the facility. Once you are approved, you can then log back in and click on Schedule a Visit at the bottom of the page and follow the steps listed.
Things to Write Down
When you schedule your visit, be sure to write down the following items:
Each inmate will continue to receive one free on-site visits each day, Monday through Saturday. Inmates can now receive unlimited remote / at-home visits each week. At-home visits cost $5. At-home visits can be scheduled every day of the week from 8:30 a.m. to 8:50 p.m.
You can conduct visits using an Apple or Android phone or tablet. Download the free Securus Visitation app in the App Store or Google Play. You can also use a computer with high speed internet access and a webcam.You will need to do the following:
Here is some other helpful information:
Minnesota residents may obtain a permit to carry a pistol by submitting an application and other related documentation to the sheriff in the county where the applicant resides. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota County Sheriff.
The Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office is located at 13880 Business Center Drive in Elk River. Enter through Door A and follow the signs to the Sheriff’s Office Lobby.
Yes. When you apply you will need to provide the sheriff with your I-551 or I-151 card, whichever one you have been issued.
Applications are available in-person at the Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office, on the Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office website, and Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website.
No. Minnesota State Statute requires you to apply at the Sheriff’s Office in person.
*Case law states that a person must have an interest in the place of business, not merely an employee.
The BCA provides a list of Approved Business Organizations that the BCA certifies for training for the MN Personal Protection Act. The Approved Business Organizations certify and teach the instructors that teach the permit holders. You will need to contact those organizations for instructor information. A list of Approved Business Organizations can be found at the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website.
No. You need to take an approved training course that meets the training guidelines for MN law, but the course does not need to be taken in Minnesota. The course can be taken out of state as long as it meets the guidelines stated in MN statute 624-712 sub. 2a
Although members of the military receive superb firearms training, they must receive training from an instructor that has been certified by an Approved Business Organization in Minnesota. This additional training pertains to the legal aspects of permit to carry issues.
Current permit to carry application fees can be found on the Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office website at https://www.co.sherburne.mn.us/687/A-to-D-Services.
You will know if your permit is issued or denied within 30 days of your application date.
New and renewal permits are valid for 5 years from the date of issuance. Emergency permits are valid for 30 days.
Emergency permits may be issued by the sheriff if he/she determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person’s household. You do not need a training certificate for an emergency permit. The emergency permit cannot be renewed if issued.
Any applicant who does not meet the criteria as listed in #5 above is not eligible for a permit to carry a pistol. The sheriff may also deny the application if there is a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to himself / herself or others if issued a permit to carry.
Minnesota permits are valid throughout the state of Minnesota. Individuals interested in determining whether a MN permit to carry is valid in another state should contact that state directly to determine what the carry laws are.
Yes. The permit holder must have the permit card and a valid driver’s license, state identification card, or other government issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document when requested by a peace officer.
Yes. Upon request of a peace officer, a permit holder must disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.
Yes. A permit holder is required to notify the issuing Sheriff’s Office within 30 days of a permanent address change. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor.
No. However, the permit holder may obtain an updated permit at a cost of $10.
No. Minnesota Personal Protection Act is a permit to carry law, not a conceal and carry law. The pistol does not need to be concealed, but may be concealed.
No. A person, other than a peace officer, who carries, holds, or possesses a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or boat, or on or about the person’s clothes or the person, or otherwise in possession or control in a public place, as defined in section 624.7181, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), without first having obtained a permit to carry the pistol is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
A person who is convicted a second or subsequent time is guilty of a felony.
No. Under MN law, handgun transfers involve any sale, gift, loan, assignment, or other delivery to another person. If you possess a valid permit to carry a pistol, that permit constitutes a permit to purchase. You do not need to apply for a separate permit to purchase. However, there is nothing that prohibits you from obtaining both permits if you desire.
No. Landlords may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
Yes. The owner of the residence may prohibit firearms from their home.
Transporting firearms without a permit requires the person to have the firearm unloaded and fully enclosed in a case made to contain a firearm.
No. This is private data and is not available to the public.
Yes. Applicants must present evidence that they have received training in the safe use of a pistol within 1 year of the date of the original or renewal application.
Permits to carry are renewed at the county sheriff’s office where the applicant currently resides. Out of state permits holders can renew at any sheriff’s office.
No, in fact it is the opposite. The focus of SHIP is sustainability - being able to make policy, system and environmental changes and build upon these healthy improvements continually. For more information, contact Health and Human Services.
For more information on the State Health Improvement Partnership (SHIP), contact Health and Human Services.
You must submit a completed VA application. you may access the application (VA health benefits information and submission instructions on this Health page). You will need a copy of your honorable discharge (DD 214 or equivalent) to the VA Medical Center Eligibility Office. They will determine your eligibility, priority group, and co-pays (if applicable). See your County Veterans Service Office for assistance in completing the form. There are separate healthcare programs for active duty personnel, retired, and dependents of veterans who are totally and permanently disabled.
For more information see our section on Medical Benefits and the Department of Veterans Affairs eligibility requirements for enrollment in VA’s Health Care System.
You must be enrolled in the VA healthcare system and be followed by a VA healthcare provider who prescribes your medication that may be obtained from a VA pharmacy. Co-pays may apply.
For more information see our section on Medical Benefits and the Department of Veterans Affairs eligibility requirements for enrollment in VA's Health Care System.
Sherburne County provides transportation to the VA Medical Center in Minneapolis and St. Cloud for veterans who are unable to transport themselves. Please refer to the guidelines and scheduling page for specific information.
VA Compensation Benefits may be paid to an eligible veteran who has a disabling physical or mental condition which was incurred or aggravated during military service. Pension Benefits are paid to veterans who have a non-service connected disabling (post service) which has been or can be diagnosed as permanent and total in nature, preventing gainful employment. Income and asset levels do apply. You should contact your officer for an interview to determine eligibility and for assistance in applying or these benefits.
For more information see our section on disabilities and the Veterans Benefits Administration.
Your discharge (DD214 or equivalent) is a very important document, because your eligibility for all VA benefits is determined by it. There are a number of sources from which you may be able to get certified copies or photo-copies your discharge papers. Our veterans service office will assist you.
You may submit electronic requests for discharge papers from the National Archives.
Bring your discharge papers (DD Form 214) to your County Veterans Service Office. They will complete a form and send it in to the Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA) office to obtain a Certificate of Eligibility. You will present the Certificate of Eligibility to your lender when applying for a home loan. It is important to compare rates, fees and programs offered by your lender.
For more information see our section on VA Home Loan Guarantees and the Dept of Veterans Affairs Home Loan Guarantee Services.
Your DD214 (Discharge Paper) is the key document that determines your eligibility for burial benefits. It is important to secure this document and make sure your family is able to locate it. Burial benefits provide for an allowance that may be authorized for the reimbursement of the funeral and burial expenses of an eligible veteran and limited benefits for a spouse. The following allowances fall under this category:
There are many factors or criteria that determine what burial allowances you may qualify for, so it is imperative that you contact your veterans' service officer for guidance and application of these benefits. We also work closely with local funeral homes and cemeteries. We strongly recommend that you find out about your VA burial benefits and options before committing to a pre-paid funeral package.
There are multiple sub-categories that fall under the umbrella of death benefits. Learn about all of them on our death benefits page.
Since the time of the Civil War, veterans of the Armed Forces have been given some degree of preference in the appointments to Federal Jobs. 5 preference points can be added to the passing examination score of a veteran who has served on active duty for at least 180 days and have an honorable discharge. A 10 point preference can be added to the passing score of a veteran who has a service connected disability rated by the VA and is in receipt of compensation for the disability. There are additional provisions for unmarried spouses or mothers of deceased veterans or veterans that are totally and permanently disabled. Preference points are not applicable for Guard and Reserve members who perform Active Duty for Training.
Read about the Minnesota Veteran Preference Act.
There are multiple higher education programs that are in effect for:
Some are programs were contributory in nature, which means that you paid into a fund. Each program has specific active duty dates, enrollment periods, entitlement dates and expiration dates.
For more detailed information refer to the GI Bill website and the Minnesota State Education Benefits website.
Requests for the issuance or replacement of military service medals, decorations, and awards should be directed to the specific branch of the military in which the veteran served. However, for Air Force (including Army Air Corps) and Army personnel, the National Personnel Records Center will verify the awards to which a veteran is entitled and forward the request with the verification to the appropriate service department for issuance of the medals. Please include a copy of your DD214 or military discharge papers with your written request for service medals, decorations and awards to the appropriate branch of service.
Find more information on the National Archives website.
The money can be used for transportation needs including road improvements and bridge projects.
Yes. Washington, Anoka, Carver, Dakota and Scott Counties, have implemented the wheelage tax for several years. The change in statute allows all counties to implement the tax.
Yes. Each vehicle that is kept in Sherburne county, while not in use, is subject to the tax. Only if you own a vehicle that is kept year-round outside of a county that has implemented the wheelage tax (i.e. at a cabin or with a son or daughter at college) will that vehicle not be required to pay the wheelage tax.
The funding for highway systems is failing to keep pace with growing population and growing demands. The wheelage tax is a user fee that shall be used to directly help improve the quality of the county road system without adding to the local property tax levies. Wheelage tax proceeds are deposited into the county road and bridge fund, which moneys shall be used for purposes authorized by law for highway improvements.