Permit to Carry
Appointments are NOT needed to apply for a Permit to Carry at the Sherburne County Sheriff's Office. Please enter through Door A of the Sherburne County Government Center and follow the signs to the Sheriff's Office Lobby.
Download Permit to Carry application (PDF).
Requirement & Responsibility
Minnesota law requires a valid permit to carry in order to carry a handgun in public. By statute, the Sheriff's Office is responsible for managing all permits to carry in the county. A valid permit to carry also qualifies as a valid permit to purchase/transfer.
Apply for a Permit
Permit applications (PDF) will be accepted in person at the Sheriff's Office, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., excluding holidays.
As established by the Minnesota Citizens' Personal Protection Act of 2003, permit to carry applicants must be:
- 21 years of age or older
- In compliance with statutory requirements
- Resident of Sherburne County (or residents of another state)
- United States citizens
In addition, applicants must complete a Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) approved training course. The BCA maintains a list of business organizations approved to train instructors - enter an address or zip code for the most accurate results.
Applicants must submit:
- A completed application form is needed that is accurately completed prior to submission. Please wait to sign and date the application until you present it in person.
- Please submit an original certificate of completed authorized training, and a legible copy. Training must be completed within one year prior to the date of the application.
- We also need a current driver's license, state identification card or photo page of a passport and an accurate copy.
- Also include proof of residency via driver's license. The driver's license must be in compliance with §171.11 and reflect the applicant's current address.
Items to Bring
Applicants must bring their actual valid driver's license, ID, or passport and certificate of training so that the Sheriff's Office staff can verify the accuracy of submitted photocopies.
An application fee will be charged at the time a completed application is submitted. The application fee is payable by cash, check, or credit card.
Within 30 days, you will receive your permit or an explanation of denial. During the application review process, the Sheriff's Office is prohibited by state law to discuss the application with the applicant.