You must submit a valid test score sheet or current permit, and two forms of proper identification. If you are replacing a lost or stolen permit, a vision test will be required. Your Social Security Number is required on the application.
An Instruction Permit is valid for two years from the date of application.
- If you are 19 years of age or older, you must hold an instruction permit for at least three months before taking a road test. This includes applicants who can't show proof of previously having a license or instruction permit.
- If you are 18 years of age or under, you must hold an instruction permit for at least six months before taking a road test.
- If you are under 18, the Instruction Permit is Phase 1 of Minnesota's new Graduated Driver's Licensing (GDL) system (PDF). You must present a certificate of enrollment from an approved driver education course that indicates you have completed the classroom part of your training.
- Your application must be signed by a parent/guardian in person when the application is submitted, or the parent or guardian's signature must be notarized prior to submitting the application. See Understanding Minnesota Traffic Law for Drivers Under Age 18 (PDF) for more information.