County Libraries

Sherburne County is served by the Great River Regional Library system. GRRL serves a population of over 350,000 residents, with over 115,000 registered borrowers in a 5,000 square mile area of central Minnesota. Other counties also served by GRRL include Benton, Morrison, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, and Wright counties.

GRRL has branch libraries in 4 cities in Sherburne County:

  • Becker
  • Big Lake
  • Elk River
  • St. Cloud

Please visit the Great River Regional Library website for more information about branch libraries and services.

Sherburne County Law Library

The Sherburne County Law Library is located on the second floor of the government center and is maintained by the Sherburne County Law Library Board. It provides residents of the county with public information on local, state and federal laws, public court forms and community resources.

Our Mission: "Provide public access to current legal information and assist the public in navigating the legal system."

The library is open to the public whenever the court house is open - but cannot provide legal advice. Materials in the library are not available for check-out, but a pay copier is available for your use. The law library also offers Court Forms, Self-Help materials, legal pamphlets & photo copying.

Hours: 8 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
   The Law Librarian is on-site:
  • Tuesdays & Wednesdays from 8am-4pm
  • Thursdays from 11am-4pm
Location: Sherburne County Government Center - Second Floor.

download flyer PDF

Free Law Clinic

Central Minnesota Legal Services in cooperation with the Law Library and local volunteer attorneys offers a Free Law Clinic the first and third Wednesday of each month from 12 noon to 1pm. Sherburne County residents or those with a Sherburne County case may participate.

This one time counseling session is to assist self-help patrons seeking directions and guidance in family law and associated matters. Patrons must sign up in advance. To sign up, please contact the Law Librarian at 763-229-3056. Patrons need to bring their court papers, orders, and documents to the meeting. Please arrive promptly; as patrons are served on a first-come first serve basis.

Questions, comments, and additional information may be directed to Elissa Bleess, Sherburne County Law Librarian.

Free Legal Consultation/Referral Information

The Sherburne County Law Library now offers a free legal consultation or referral information to those needing legal advice.

To arrange an appointment for Tuesday mornings from 8am to 12 noon or Thursday afternoons 12 noon to 4pm, call Elissa Bleess, Sherburne County Law Librarian at 763-229-3056.

This Self Help Project is a public service of the Law Library in addition to our Law Clinics held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month on the second floor of the government center, in cooperation with Central Minnesota Legal Services. For more information call the law library.

Online Library

The Library's online catalog includes titles held at the Minnesota State Law Library, and various County Law Libraries throughout Minnesota.

When you search the law library, you will get results from all the collections (state and county law libraries). To search on-line for items owned by the Sherburne County Law Library, you will need to:

Court Forms

Contact Us:

Sherburne County Govt Center
ATTN: Sherburne County
13880 Business Center Dr NW
Elk River, MN 55330-1692

Directions, Hours & Location

Phone: 763-765-3000
Contact Sherburne County with your questions, comments and feedback