Board of Commissioners - District 4 - Felix Schmiesing

District 4 Commissioner

Elected: 2003
Current term through 2018
Board Chair: 2015
Board Vice-Chair: 2014

Clear Lake, Haven, Palmer, Santiago, SE St. Cloud

Sherburne County Govt Center
13880 Business Center Dr NW
Suite 100
Elk River, MN 55330-4668

763-765-3001 (Govt. Center)
800-433-5229 (Govt. Center)
320-743-2600 (business)


Felix is a lifetime resident of Palmer Township. He has been married for 37 years, has 5 children and 9 grandchildren. He is a contract poultry producer for 30+ years and owned Flex Transport, a “for hire” motor carrier. He has held 40+ committee assignments while in office. He has been a Palmer Town Board Supervisor for 7 years and Chair for 4 years. He has a 30+ year membership in Clear Lake Lions and was President for 2 terms. He is a lifelong member of St. Marcus Catholic Church in Clear Lake, and a past council member. Back to Commissioner Map

County Committee Assignments:

  • Benefits Advisory Committee
  • Board of Health
  • Central MN Council on Aging
  • Central MN Mental Health Board - Finance Committee
  • Central MN Mental Health Foundation Delegate
  • Crime Lab Task Force (Multi-jurisdictional)
  • Department Head Committee
  • Ditch Authority
  • Economic Development Structure Task Force
  • Facilities Long Range Planning
  • Great River Interfaith Partnership
  • Great River Regional Library/President
  • Great River Regional Library Personnel Committee
  • Great River Regional Library Budget Committee
  • Housing and Redevelopment Authority (HRA)
  • Highway 10 Corridor Coalition
  • Intergovernmental Relations Committee
  • I-94/TH 10 Interregional Connection River Corridor Advisory Committee
  • Metro Counties Energy Task Force
  • MN Counties Energy Task Force Wind Energy Work Group
  • MICA - Metropolitan Inter-County Association - Treasurer
  • MCIT - Voting Delegate
  • National Association of Counties
  • NACO Community Economic Development Steering Committee
  • Negotiations Committee
  • Northstar Corridor Development Authority
  • Northstar Corridor Development Authority II - Chair
  • Noxious Weed Control Appeal Committee
  • Policy-Ways and Means Committee
  • Quad County
  • RDF Advisory Board
  • Regional Rail Authority
  • St. Cloud Airport Master Planning Committee
  • St. Cloud Area Joint Planning District Board - Chairman
  • St. Cloud Area Wide Planning Organization (APO) General Board
  • St. Cloud Area Wide Planning Organization (APO) Executive Board
  • St. Cloud Joint Airport Zoning Board
  • St. Cloud Regional Airport Advisory Board
  • Sherburne County Economic Development Alliance
  • Solid Waste Management Coordinating Board
  • Technology Steering Committee
  • The Partnership (St. Cloud Area Economic Development)
  • The Partnership Executive Board
  • Tri-County Solid Waste Commission


  • Central MN Emergency Medical Services Region

All Commissioners:

  • AMC Policy Committee – Public Safety (alternate)
  • Community Health Board
  • County Canvass Board (Commissioner’s not up for re-election)
  • Department Head Committee
  • Ditch Authority
  • Housing and Redevelopment Authority (HRA)
  • Intergovernmental Relations Committee
  • National Association of Counties
  • Noxious Weed Control Appeal Committee
  • Quad County
  • Regional Rail Authority

Back to Commissioner Map

Contact Us:

Sherburne County Govt Center
13880 Business Center Dr NW
Suite 100
Elk River, MN 55330-4668

Office Location & Hours

Phone: 763-765-3001
Fax: 763-765-3002
Contact Sherburne County with your questions, comments and feedback