Effective May 1, 2015: This office will no longer be offering Drivers License written Knowledge Tests or accepting Reinstatement Fees on Thursday from 10:00am-11:15am
DVS Notice and alternate Knowledge testing sites
The Driver's License Center Hours:
MONDAY: 7:30am-7:30pm Applications available until 7:15pm
TUESDAY-FRIDAY: 8:00am-4:30pm Applications available until 4:15pm
Road tests are offered every Thursday at the Sherburne County Government
Center by appointment only.
Call 763-422-3401 to schedule an appointment.
MN Driver's License Manuals
As part of a new green initiative, Driver's License Manuals are now available online, exclusively.
Use the links below to view an entire manual in English or visit the Department of Public Safety website for other options.
We accept the payment for driver's license fees in the form of cash, personal check, credit and debit cards.
Enhanced Driver's License or Enhanced Identification Card
(NOT available at Sherburne County Government Center)
Minnesota residents are now able to apply for an enhanced version of their driver's license or identification card that will allow re-entry into the United States via land and sea from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda or the Caribbean. In addition to serving as a driver's license or ID card, the enhanced driver's license (EDL) and the enhanced identification card (EID) are among the federally-approved border-crossing documents required under the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. An EDL/EID is not valid for international air travel.
The cards must denote citizenship and identity and contain technology and security features approved by the secretary of the United States Department of Homeland Security. Only Minnesota residents who are also United States citizens and at least 16 years of age may apply for an Enhanced Driver's License or Enhanced Identification Card. An EDL/EID must be mailed to the Minnesota residential address that appears on the EDL/EID card. The fee for an EDL or EID is $15 in addition to the fee required for your driver's license or non-driver photo ID card transaction.
For additional information regarding documentation required and a list of the 14 exam stations where EDL/EID are able to be processed, visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
Driver's Instruction Permit
You must submit a valid test score sheet or current permit, and two forms of proper identification. If you are replacing a lost or stolen permit, a vision test will be required.
An instruction permit is valid for two years from the date of application.
If you are under 18 years of age, your application must be signed by a parent/guardian in person when the application is submitted, or notorized by a parent/guardian prior to submitting the application. See Understanding Minnesota Traffic Law for Drivers Under Age 18 for more information.
New Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law: As of January 1, 2015, if you are under 18 at the time of the road test for the provisional license, you must present a certificate of enrollment from an approved driver education course that indicates you have completed the classroom part of your training and submit a supervised driving log to the driver exam staff. When practicing with a permit, you must be accompanied by a licensed adult driver. If you are under 18, the supervising driver must be 21 years of age or older. If you are 18 or older, the supervising driver must be an adult of 18 years of age or older.
Driver's License Duplicate/Replacement
Proof of Identity must be submitted when there is a change of any kind. A vision test is not required. Applicants under 18 years of age must have the application signed by a parent or guardian.
Driver's License Renewal
You must submit your current driver's license. A vision test and photo will be required. Applicants under 18 years of age must have their application signed by their parent or guardian. We cannot transfer an out of state driver's license to Minnesota without additional testing. See New Residents
CDL license holders will be asked to complete a Medical Self-Certification Form and submit an unexpired Medical Examiners Certificate, if applicable.
Motorcycle instruction permit: $21.00
Motorcycle renewal: $13.00
School Bus original/renewal: $4.00
Third and subsequent knowledge/written test: $10.00
Third and subsequent road/skill test: $20.00
New or Returning Residents of Minnesota
If you are a driver moving into Minnesota from another state, certain U.S. territories, or Canada, it may be possible for you to get a license by passing the appropriate written test (s) and vision test only. To be able to do this you must have a valid driver's license (or one which has been expired less than one year) from your former home state and a certified copy of your birth certificate. You will also need a certified copy of a name change document if your current name does not match your birth certificate or former state license.
For drivers returning to Minnesota, if your previous Minnesota license expired less than 5 years ago, a birth certificate is not required, only any name change documents if your current name is different from your previous Minnesota license.
Please see the information published by the Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety for more details.
Proof of Identity
Do you have proper identification?
View the Identification Requirements as published by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
State Identification Card
You can obtain a Minnesota identification card by completing an application and presenting two forms of identity. A photo and signature will be taken to be included on the ID card.
A Reduced Fee Identification Card is available to persons with a physical or developmental disability or qualified mental illness. To qualify, you must submit a completed Eligibility Form .
Visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website for more information.